Aircraft Fastener Specifications

Each classification refers to the governing body that has approved, and maintains the drawn, published specification for each part.

MS Military Standards

A United States Defense Standard is used to help achieve standardization objectives by the U.S. Department of Defense. Standardization is beneficial in achieving interoperability, ensuring products meet certain requirements, commonality, reliability, total cost of ownership, compatibility with logistics systems, and similar defense-related objectives.
Defense Standards are also used by other non-Defense government organizations, technical organizations, and industry. Defense standards evolved from the need to ensure proper performance and maintainability of military equipment.

NASM and NAM Fastener Standards

What is an NASM/NAM standard? Aerospace Industries Association (AIA), in coordination with the Department of Defense, has converted over 500 MIL-spec's to NAS. These converted documents carry a “NASM” (for inch based) or “NAM” (for Metric based) prefix. The standard continues to be procured to the MS part number.

NAS and NA Fastener Standards

“NAS” stands for National Aerospace Standard. The NA prefix is for Metric standards. NAS standards include Part Standards for high strength, precision fasteners.

Army Navy Fastener Standards

AN fasteners are the industry standard for aircraft, and the name “AN” stands for Army/Navy. It is an indicator that the nuts are made to very specific standards to stand up to the toughest jobs without faltering. These nuts are made to military specifications.

Boeing Specification

Boeing has long recognized standardization as a key element of its business strategies and standards as essential tools. Boeing has arguably the largest corporate standards program in the world, with well over 110,000 Boeing standards created, managed and distributed through an online system.

European Fastener Standards

The Fasteners Standards Committee (FMV) within DIN Deutsches Institut für Normung e. V. has the task to carry out the standardization in the field of mechanical fasteners and to assure the representation of national interests at international and European levels. Screws and nuts including washers, as well as pins, rivets and retaining rings are classified as mechanical fasteners. The standardization process concerns, in addition to the dimensions, also the mechanical and functional characteristics of the fasteners and the specification of testing. Each classification refers to the governing body that has approved, and maintains the drawn, published specification for each part.

For additional information please see our line card
Line card in PDF format.
Name (required)
Email (required)
Comments (required)